RSS

My Friend’s Thought: One Reason Why We Need RH Bill

23 Aug

friend of mine (he was the mayor of his year level when I was the governor of our college back then), arrived after doing some missionary works down south of the Philippines. I could see the disappointment and frustration in his face as he related what he found out.

He came to know of a girl, she is 14 years old. Pregnant… for her 3rd child. Yes, you read that right. Pregnant for her 3rd baby at age 14. My friend thinks, it seems that in that tribe, as long as the girls reaches menarche (first menstruation), they are being taken wives by older men.

He also talked to a leader of the tribe (they’re called datu). He has vast land, around 20 hectares. He rents it out to a multinational company. The company pays him 1,000 pesos per hectare, so that would sum to 20,000 pesos… Per month? NOOOOOO… Per YEAR, yes, per year!!! In addition, my friend told me the datu has about 10 wives. And each wife has lots of kids. So it makes my friend think, how can a 20,000 sustain that big family? How cannot he be impoverished when aside from the big family he has, he is being taken advantaged of by this big multinational company?

What took me was my friend saying, this scenario should really be seen by those men in congress, especially those who oppose the passage of the reproductive health bill. They are so impossible to contend with. There is really a need for it to be enacted.

When he departed, I thanked him, for understanding how life goes on among our poor fellows, for sharing the passion about how reproductive health program will help our poor women, save lives/reduce deaths, and in the long run, help alleviate their conditions.

 
 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “My Friend’s Thought: One Reason Why We Need RH Bill

  1. leilani fernandez

    August 30, 2012 at 6:30 am

    was a DTTB b4 and yes from where i was assigned many girls get pregnant in the hope of getting out of poverty and hardship in life not knowing that they just leap from the pot into the raging fire! these lawmakers don’t want our country to advance and to educate our countrymen because if we all are educated who will vote for them, corrupt, heartless and power hungry lawmakers? it’s a bit frustrating but i guess we don’t learn our lesson. we still elect people who will use guns, goons and gold to stay in power

     
  2. SebastiansLife

    August 31, 2012 at 6:24 am

    Well hello there Doc. It your buddy Seb! 😀 I just followed you. I’ve abandoned my blog, but follow me, I’ll eventually resurrect it back to life.

     
    • drclintonb

      September 1, 2012 at 3:39 am

      oh, but you should. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
