RSS

Beyond The Resurrection – Update Two Months After

10 Feb

After 12 days of hospital confinement, I was sent home with loads of medications. My surgeon as well advised me to avoid meat, save for fish. (That was a big dilemma. If I avoid such food, where will I get my protein I badly need for my wound healing? The reason why I still continued to be drinking this particular milk even if I should have stopped it upon having full diet). So I finally got free of meat for about a month. One month after hospitalization, I did some lab works. Results yielded that my cholesterol was still elevated at 211 (from 222 pre-op), triglycerides 352 (from 350 pre-op). Calcium was low normal so I had to continue my calcium supplementation, FBS 103 (upper limit was 105). So my oral hypoglycemic agent was then discontinued, fibrate, statin and fish oil were added, blood thinner continued, other meds were also discontinued. I was still having operstive site pain so I had to be maintained on pain reliever on a regular dose, not as needed basis.

Six weeks after my surgery, my cardiologist subjected me to stress test for her to assess how far can I go on with my physical activity. Initially my heart rate was high because of coffee intake I had during breakfast. I was then advised to drink decaffeinated coffee instead. I was doing well initially. My blood pressure was slowly rishing. 4 mets… 5… 10 mets. Yes I have reached as far as 10 mets, with inclination (which I can’t remember) and speed of 6.7 miles/hr, and then, boom! Premature ventricular contractions (PVCs) started to appear singlets, then quadruplets. Immediately my cardiologist stopped the activity. Bear in mind that when the PVCs appeared, I was still not having any symptoms like chest pain or heaviness. Guess that how tolerant I was. I was then prescribed an exercise list under 6-7 mets category. What were remarkable in the list included walking (5.5 kms) and biking (16kms).

Immediately in the afternoon I began working out, just walking at the threadmill. I didn’t have difficulty, I barely had sweat. And as days were going, it was getting boring. Last week, i tried to elevate my workout. I tried to increase the speed and run real slow, keeping in check my heart rate. In 20 seconds, my heart rate easily accelerated to 140s/min. I would slow down immediately and walk. Then resume when my heart rate woul fall to 100s.

This week, 8 weeks post operation, I tried a little of running and I was just surprised by the development. I was already 15 minutes running and yet my heart rate was maintained at 130s. It’s just that my ankles were getting tired so I rested by walking for 5 mins, then resumed my slow run till end of my time in the machine. I was able to have 40 mins run and 20 mins walk and I was able to tolerate it, no chest pains or difficulty of breathing at all. I then reported this to my cardiologist and allowed me to increase my walk/run up to 6.0 mi/hr. I welcomed this permission. My liver enzymes were elevated again so we had to shift my statin to another kind, increase the dose of my liver supplement. Still my dietary intake excluse meat. I am always into vegetable/fruits and fish.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 10, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Beyond The Resurrection – Update Two Months After

  1. Annis

    May 8, 2013 at 6:43 am

    It’s going to be end of mine day, however before ending I am reading this great piece of writing to increase my experience.

     
  2. Soccer Defense Drills

    June 20, 2013 at 2:08 pm

    Howdy! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after going through some of the posts I realized it’s new to me.
    Nonetheless, I’m definitely delighted I stumbled upon it and I’ll be
    bookmarking it and checking back regularly!

     

Leave a Reply

 
