RSS

Easter

31 Mar

Here I am again, thinking of what to write about… Wish I could say “writer’s block” but then I don’t qualify myself as a writer. Just someone who loves to write what he has in mind.

EASTER EGG TRADITION

 

Image

(photo credit: http://www.wikipedia.org)

This was what I read from wikipedia.org:

Easter eggs are special eggs that are often given to celebrate Easter or springtime. As such, Easter eggs are common during the season of Eastertide. In Christianity, they symbolize the empty tomb of Jesus: though an egg appears to be like the stone of a tomb, a bird hatches from it with life; similarly, the Easter egg, for Christians, is a reminder that Jesus rose from the grave, and that those who believe will also experience eternal life.”

So eggs were considered as “dairy” (foodstuff that could be taken from an animal without shedding its blood). In Christianity, meat and dairy were forbidden during the Lenten Fast.

The last Tuesday before the Ash Wednesday was called Shrove Tuesday when all dairy and meat will have to be consumed as they will be forbidden during the Lent Season. This day is also known by a French term Mardi Gras, which translates as Fat Tuesday. This lead to the establishment of the tradition “Pancake Day” celebrated on this day.

In the Orthodox Church, Great Lent begins on Clean Monday, rather than Wednesday, so the household’s dairy products would be used up in the preceding week, called Cheesefare Week. During Lent, since chickens would not stop producing eggs during this time, a larger than usual store might be available at the end of the fast if the eggs had not been allowed to hatch. The surplus, if any, had to be eaten quickly to prevent spoiling. Then, with the coming of Easter, Pascha the eating of eggs resumes.

One would have been forced to hard boil the eggs that the chickens produced so as not to waste food, and for this reason the Spanish dish hornazo (traditionally eaten on and around Easter) contains hard-boiled eggs as a primary ingredient. In Hungary, eggs are used sliced in potato casseroles around the Easter period.

 

MY “RESURRECTION”

I received a miracle, that is, a second chance to life. It is another chance to make your best or do you worst. It is an option actually which trek to lead. For several times, I have been told I still have a lot of things to do in this second chance. But what things? Most said, it is about my profession of serving the compromised newborns. But is it really? For now, the only thing I am proud of doing is be a neonatologist. That is the only think I know I can do that can reach out to other people. Though there are times I am trying to think, reflect if there are other things I was supposed to do besides be these babies’ savior.

Every time I hear news of others suffering the same thing that I had, but eventually did not make it, I cringe. I cringe at the reality that not all persons are given the same opportunity that I had. Given all the circumstances around and that happened after my dreadful heart attack, I could conclude and say I am one lucky bastard to have been in that situation. 

Some say “magpakabait ka na.” Am I really that aweful? Bad? Come to think of it, if I were that bad enough for the society, why would I still be sent back? Or are some people just that judgmental to easily say I was “hindi mabait?” That’s another reflection I still am having up to this time.

I do not liken myself to Christ whose death was for saving the mankind from their sins to eternal life. But I know, deep in my heart, that there are lives I am given to have the opportunity to show care and compassion. I may not necessarily save them, but most importantly, I have allowed their mothers to take care of them, even in those littlest times, to be a mother, to show care for their fragile babies.

Happy Easter everyone!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 31, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
