RSS
Aside
23 Apr

More often than not, we call them autistic as “may sariling mundo” (confined in their own world). But unknown to us, there is a lot that is going on inside their brain that makes them behave as such…

Carly(photo courtesy of http://www.allmyfaves.com/blog/video/carlys-cafe-amazing-story-of-one-girls-triumph-over-autism/)

I have come across this video about an autistic child who was able to breakthrough from her body and is now able to express intelligently what transpires within her body. Those we perceive as hurtful purposeless flinging of extremities, banging of the head to the floor or wall, apparently has an explanation…

“You dont know what it feels like to be me, when you can’t sit still because your legs feel like they are on fire or it feels like a hundred ants are crawling up your arms. People look at me and assume I am dumb, because I can’t talk. It’s hard to be autistic because no one understands me. What do I want? I want to be like every other kid. But I cant. Because I am Carly.

I am autistic, but that’s not who I am. Take time to know me, before you judge me. I am cute, funny and like to have fun. I think people get a lot of information from so-called experts, but if a horse is sick, you don’t ask a fish what is wrong with the horse. You go right to the horse’s mouth.”

When asked why she bangs her head to the floor, she said: Because if I don’t, I feel like my body is going to explode. It’s just like when you shake a can of coke. If I could stop it I would, but it is not like turning a switch off. I know what is right and wrong but it’s like I have a fight with my brain over it.”

“I want to be able to go to school like normal kids, but not have them getting upset, or scared if I hit a table or scream. I want something that will put off the fire.”

“I want people to know that no one is telling me what to say and I don’t have a hand at my butt like a puppet.”

Therapist asks her, Carly, why do autistic kids cover their ears, flap their hands, hum and rock?

Carly replied: “It’s a way for us to drown out all sensory input that over loads us all at once. We create output to block input.”

“Doctors would tell … that we have a hard time processing information. It’s not really true, our brains are wired differently. We take in many sounds and conversations all at once. I take over a thousand pictures of a person’s face when I look at them. That’s why we have a hard time looking at people.”

“Dear Dad, I love when you read to me. And I love that you believe in me. I know I am not the easiest kid in the world… Father, you are always there for me holding my hand and picking me up. I love you.”

“I think the only thing I can say is don’t give up. Your inner voice will find its way out. Mine did.

Carly, you truly are inspiring. Your voice was very significant in helping me change my perceptions of how autistics behave, what autistics are having in their brains. Now, I would say you’re not confined in your own world. You just have a lot of stimulation that makes you counteract it by those pervasive movements. Now I know why… Thank you Carly.

Carly: Autistic, Intelligent

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 23, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
