RSS

My Journey To A Healthy Heart

24 May

It’s almost 6 months after my arrest and revival (December 8 2012)… (for more details on this, read my other blog “Flat Line… My Personal Account”)

November 2012

One month before the arrest, my blood test showed my total cholesterol was up at 222 and triglycerides at 350.

Jan 3, 2013

One month after I was revived, when I was only on fruits, vegetables and fish diet, my repeat blood test showed my total cholesterol was still high at 211, and my triglycerides went up to 352. It was at this point when my cardiologist asked me to resume taking my cholesterol-lowering medication. I started on atrovastatin and fenofibrate.

Jan 22, 2013

I took my post-arrest stress test. I was found out to have premature ventricular contractions (PVCs) not just in singles, but in quadruplets in a row. We surmised that this must have been the factor that lead to my arrest before. I was started on anti-arrhythmic amiodarone.

Feb 5, 2013

We checked on my liver enzymes and they were elevated as a possible side effect of the statins. My liver-protecting medications were increased and fish oil (eicosahexanoic acid and docosahexanoic acid, EPA + DHA) was added. My colleague cum friend cum cardiologist also added ezetimibe which works synergistically with both statins and fibrates in lowering the serum values. My thyroid function was also evaluated as an effect of the anti-arrhythmic. It was alright. My ECG showed widening of the QT interval thus my amiodarone was decreased.

I continued to restrict my food to merely fish, and sometimes chicken. I kept on working out. I have started this hobby of running on the treadmill.

March 12, 2013

One month again after the start of medications, my liver enzymes were still elevated. We shifted the atorvastatin now to ruosovastatin while my other medications were continued. My ECG tracing was already normal hence the amiodarone was already decreased to every other day.

May 23, 2013

I had my repeat labs done. Thyroid function and liver enzymes were A-OK, very excellent. Total cholesterol, for the very first time in my life, became normal at 185. High-density lipoprotein (HDL, good cholesterol) went up from 28 to 58. Low-density lipoprotein (LDL, bad cholesterol) decreased too from 183 to 111 (but still abnormally high). Triglycerides went down from 352 to 75.

I am just so happy and elated. I thought I will never see this day that my lipid profile will border if not fall to normal.

Previously, I made a bargain with myself. If despite all the measures I am taking and still my lipid profile will not go normal, I might as well eating foods I personally restricted myself from eating. What’s the use anyway of restricting. If my lipids will not improve, why should I deprive myself of these food. Better die soon but satiated instead of starving and yet dying soon just the same. The other compromise was, if my lipid profile will decrease to normal, then I will go on with my food restriction, medication and vigorous exercise, for life.

Now, since my values have already gone down to normal, I am now committed to living healthy – diet, exercise, and medication. For life. Here’s to celebrating the chance of having a longer life more…

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 24, 2013 in Personal

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
